Online Now 2205

Celebrating Perfection At St. John

A crowd of about 5,000 was on hand Friday night at St. John Arena for a celebration of Ohio State’s 12-0 Big Ten Leaders Division championship football team.

celebration part 1 mpg

Above, we have video of the main portion of the celebration, featuring comments by Columbus mayor Michael Coleman, OSU president Gordon Gee and OSU coach Urban Meyer.

The OSU marching band was on hand to play a number of favorites. Click here for video of the band’s early portion of their program.

Mayor Coleman announced plans to rename a street near campus as “12-0 Row.”

Meyer answered questions on the season from emcee Dom Tiberi of WBNS-TV. He also introduced each of the team’s 20 seniors. Click here for video of Meyer introducing the seniors and the conclusion of the celebration.

Troy Smith, OSU’s 2006 Heisman Trophy winner, was on hand to present the team captains (John Simon, Zach Boren, Etienne Sabino and Garrett Goebel) with the trophy for the Leaders Division championship.

The program concluded with Meyer and his team singing Carmen Ohio.

Already have an account? Sign In